Shining Freedom sculpture catches fire!

During my recent walk around Coronado, I came upon a dull, lifeless metal sculpture standing at the center of a small park. But then a rising sea breeze moved the nearby trees. The sculpture began to slowly turn. I stood in one place, snapping a few pics…

Freedom sculpture at Glorietta Bay Yacht Club Promenade appears dull and utterly lifeless.
Freedom sculpture at Glorietta Bay Yacht Club Promenade appears dull and utterly lifeless.
Freedom turns in the wind and surfaces begin to reflect the bright sunshine.
Freedom turns in the wind and surfaces begin to reflect the bright sunshine.
Shining Freedom sculpture catches fire! The kinetic sculpture was created by Jon Koehler.
Shining Freedom sculpture catches fire! The kinetic sculpture was created by Jon Koehler.

The public art, titled Freedom, was sculpted by artist Jon Koehler and installed in the Glorietta Bay Yacht Club Promenade in 2009.

To enjoy future posts, you can “like” Cool San Diego Sights on Facebook or follow me on Twitter.

Published by

Richard Schulte

Downtown San Diego has been my home for many years. My online activities reflect my love for writing, blogging, walking and photography.

9 thoughts on “Shining Freedom sculpture catches fire!”

  1. How amazing! Creativity is expressed in so many ways. I think we need it as much as food and water. It connects me to something I find difficult to describe. If it were a feeling it would be wonderment, bliss or even transcendence. No, not on drugs. Life is high enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.